Colloquia


SIOP Banner

Mason continued to maintain a strong presence, with 20 poster and symposium presentations by our students and faculties, at the 2018 Annual Conference of the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP) in Chicago.

Click here for the 33rd Annual Conference Program to view Mason's contributions to SIOP 2018.

 

Brown-bag lunches are presentations given by professionals from outside George Mason University, members of the faculty of the Psychology Department and cognate departments and centers, and student colleagues.

Fall 2018 I/O Brown-bags will take place on Tuesdays from 9AM-10AM in Krug Hall 210. Detailed schedule below:

Date

Topic(s) 

Tuesday, August 28

Introduction Day with Elisa Torres, Linden Hughes, & Dr. Seth Kaplan

Introduction to Faculty, Students, the Graduate Program, and Brownbag; Icebreakers

 

Tuesday, September 4

Dr. Mark Addleson

Organizations and Organizing: Why Practitioners Need This and Other Distinctions

 

Tuesday, September 11

Debby Kermer

The New Library Search, Infoguides/Databases, Zotero, the Open Science Framework, and Scholarly Communication Issues

 

Tuesday, September 18

Katelyn McCoy, Mitchell Pontikes, Cory Moore, & Katie Guarino

GMU Master's Student Research at ARI: Perspectives from Two Research Units

 

Tuesday, September 25

Dr. Richard Tonowski

I/O and EEO – The Intersection of Science & Law (in the modern day)

Dr. Tonowski will describe the role of EEOC in civil rights enforcement and the role of IO psychologists in developing workplace applications that are effective, efficient, and fair. He will discuss current issues that involve individual IO psychologists and the profession as a whole which link to furthering equal employment opportunities and legal compliance.

 

Tuesday, October 2

Dr. Mandy O’Neill

"Knowing Your Place: Asymmetric Effects of Joking on Status Conferral in a Masculine Occupation" (with coauthor Natalya Alonso, a doctoral student at University of British Columbia)

 

Tuesday, October 9

NO CLASS – Columbus Day Holiday

Tuesday, October 16

Dr. Deirdre Knapp

I-O Psychology as a Profession: A Perspective on Our Roles, Responsibilities, and Identity

 

Tuesday, October 23

Dr. Jennifer Gibson

Things I Didn't Learn in Grad School

 

Tuesday, October 30

Dr. Jessica Srikantia

Catalyzing Real-Life Change: New Directions in/for Psychology

 

Tuesday, November 6

Lydia Craig

Friendship and Worker Well-Being

 

Tuesday, November 13

Dr. Mark Clark

Knowledge Networks and/or Leadership

Tuesday, November 20

NO CLASS – THANKSGIVING BREAK

Tuesday, November 27

Dr. Philseok Lee

Person-Centric Investigation of the Effectiveness of Multidimensional Forced-Choice Personality Measure

 

Tuesday, December 4

Career Panel

Topic TBD

 

For more information on our Brown-bag lunches, please contact our Vice President, Linden Hughes.

Print Friendly and PDF