Program Overview


V

 

The Volunteer Program Assessment (VPA) is a cutting-edge, innovative, and completely free volunteer assessment system for nonprofits. Designed to promote organizational effectiveness, VPA consultants work with volunteer coordinators to develop online surveys to administer to their volunteers. The survey provides information on individual and organizational outcomes such as employee satisfaction, burnout, communication, and commitment. The survey also evaluates volunteer perceptions regarding the nonprofit’s greatest strengths and weaknesses. VPA consultants provide guidance to volunteer coordinators every step of the way, maintaining a tentative timeline and helping to interpret the survey results. VPA consultants then present tailored recommendations for improvement to volunteer coordinators and a comprehensive report with findings from the survey.

VPA was initially developed as a partnership between the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and the Humane Society of the United States. VPA at George Mason University is run by industrial-organizational psychology graduate students and faculty who are passionate about giving back to the community.

 

VPA Team

Dr. Reeshad Dalal, Faculty Advisor

 

Current Executive Board (May 2024 - May 2025)
 
Ariam Haile, Director
 
Jami Segal, Co-Director
 
Mindy Wu, Client Outreach Coordinator

Ben Bradshaw & Sadyah Kessouagni, Training and Development Coordinators

Madeline Wonders, Engagement Coordinator

 

Senior Consultants

Prashamsa Pandey (ppandey7@gmu.edu)

Steven Zhou (szhou9@gmu.edu)

Annie Nottingham (anottin@gmu.edu)

Morgan Young (myoung50@gmu.edu)

Mary Castle (mcastle7@gmu.edu)

Lilian O'Sullivan (losulli@gmu.edu)

Aimee Durrance (adurranc@gmu.edu)

Julie Jasewicz (jjasewic@gmu.edu)

Shelby Joseph (sjosep7@gmu.edu)

Matthew Hailemariam (mhailem4@gmu.edu)

Niamh Harrop (nhar505@aucklanduni.ac.nz)

Amy Lawrence (alaw647@aucklanduni.ac.nz)

Lucy Xing (lucy.xing@auckland.ac.nz)

Lixin Jian (ljia651@aucklanduni.ac.nz)

Junior Consultants

Aiva Gorab (bgorab@gmu.edu)

Ariam Haile (ahaile5@gmu.edu)

Asher Ackman (aackman@gmu.edu)

Ben Bradshaw (bbradsh@gmu.edu)

Cameron Barto (Cbarto@gmu.edu)

Daksha Singh (dsin162@aucklanduni.ac.nz)

Bailee McGavock (bmcg548@aucklanduni.ac.nz)

Jooeun Jung (jjun956@aucklanduni.ac.nz)

Danielle Wilson (dwilso33@gmu.edu)

Deem Lin (dlin22@gmu.edu)

Eric Johansen (EJohans@gmu.edu)

Hannah Luckes (hluckes@gmu.edu)

Jami Segal (jsegal3@gmu.edu)

Mindy Wu (mwu27@gmu.edu)

Molly Marazita (mmarazit@gmu.edu)

Renee McCauley (rmccaul3@gmu.edu)

Sadyah Kessouagni (Skessoua@gmu.edu)

Scott Maxey (smaxey@gmu.edu)

Tara Pollack (tdpollac@gmu.edu)

Thisali Mendis (amendis@gmu.edu)

William Thilwind (wthilwin@gmu.edu)

Xueyi "Sherry" Liao (xliao2@gmu.edu)