Program Overview


V

 

The Volunteer Program Assessment (VPA) is a cutting-edge, innovative, and completely free volunteer assessment system for nonprofits. Designed to promote organizational effectiveness, VPA consultants work with volunteer coordinators to develop online surveys to administer to their volunteers. The survey provides information on individual and organizational outcomes such as employee satisfaction, burnout, communication, and commitment. The survey also evaluates volunteer perceptions regarding the nonprofit’s greatest strengths and weaknesses. VPA consultants provide guidance to volunteer coordinators every step of the way, maintaining a tentative timeline and helping to interpret the survey results. VPA consultants then present tailored recommendations for improvement to volunteer coordinators and a comprehensive report with findings from the survey.

VPA was initially developed as a partnership between the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and the Humane Society of the United States. VPA at George Mason University is run by industrial-organizational psychology graduate students and faculty who are passionate about giving back to the community.

 

VPA Team

Dr. Reeshad Dalal, Faculty Advisor

 

Current Executive Board (May 2022 - May 2023)
 
Ami Patel, Director
 
Julia Baines, Co-Director
 
Georgia Bizzell, Client Outreach Coordinator
 
Julia Woods and Aidan Suttlehan, Training and Development Coordinators
 
Annie Nottingham, Engagement Coordinator

 

Senior Consultants

Steven Zhou (szhou9@gmu.edu)

Nianqi Wu (nwu2@gmu.edu)

Annie Nottingham (anottin@gmu.edu)

Rick Commisso (rcommiss@gmu.edu)

Adrien McCulloch (amccull6@gmu.edu)

Georgia Bizzell (gbizzell@gmu.edu)

 

Junior Consultants

Theresa Navalta (tnavaltanyc@gmail.com)         

Teresa Bui (tbui32@gmu.edu)  

Sai Banala (sbanala18@gmail.com)       

Riho Ikeda (rikeda@gmu.edu)  

Priya Sorot (psorot@gmu.edu)

Nicole Aranda (naranda@gmu.edu)      

Maggie North (mnorth@gmu.edu)        

Justyce McGhee (jmcghee4@gmu.edu)

Juliana Freire (jmontei3@gmu.edu)      

Emily Flynt (eflynt@gmu.edu)   

Elizabeth Chimento (echiment@gmu.edu)          

Angela Charles (acharle4@gmu.edu)     

Aidan Suttlehan (asuttlehan@gmu.edu)             

Julia Woods (jwoods25@gmu.edu)       

Zion Howard (Zhoward4@gmu.edu)      

Ana Lowetz (alowetz@gmu.edu)            

Teresa Bui (tbui32@gmu.edu)  

Ami Patel (apatel53@gmu.edu)

Elizabeth Chimento (echiment@gmu.edu)