Program Overview


V

 

The Volunteer Program Assessment (VPA) is a cutting-edge, innovative, and completely free volunteer assessment system for nonprofits. Designed to promote organizational effectiveness, VPA consultants work with volunteer coordinators to develop online surveys to administer to their volunteers. The survey provides information on individual and organizational outcomes such as employee satisfaction, burnout, communication, and commitment. The survey also evaluates volunteer perceptions regarding the nonprofit’s greatest strengths and weaknesses. VPA consultants provide guidance to volunteer coordinators every step of the way, maintaining a tentative timeline and helping to interpret the survey results. VPA consultants then present tailored recommendations for improvement to volunteer coordinators and a comprehensive report with findings from the survey.

VPA was initially developed as a partnership between the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and the Humane Society of the United States. VPA at George Mason University is run by industrial-organizational psychology graduate students and faculty who are passionate about giving back to the community.

 

VPA Team

Dr. Reeshad Dalal, Faculty Advisor

 

Current Executive Board (May 2021 - May 2022)

Quinn Keegan, Director

Julia Baines, Co-Director

Kristina Wright, Client Outreach Coordinator

Alan Soroka, Training and Development Coordinator

Natalie Johnson, Engagement Coordinator

 

Senior Consultants

Steven Zhou (szhou9@gmu.edu)

Mike McGraw (mmcgraw@gmu.edu)

Joanna Zakzewski (jzakzews@gmu.edu)

Nianqi Wu (nwu2@gmu.edu)

 

Junior Consultants

Adrien McCulloch (amccull6@gmu.edu)

Katelyn Campbell (kcampb7@gmu.edu)

Rick Commisso (rcommiss@gmu.edu)

Marcia Berndt (mberndt@gmu.edu)

Ami Patel (apatel53@gmu.edu)

Erin Ramirez (eramir3@gmu.edu)

Zion Howard (Zhoward4@gmu.edu)

Aidan Suttlehan (asuttlehan@gmu.edu)

Emily Szabo (eszabo@gmu.edu)

Maggie North (mnorth@gmu.edu)

Nicole Aranda (naranda@gmu.edu)

Julia Woods (jwoods25@gmu.edu)

Annie Nottingham (anottin@gmu.edu)

Ana Lowetz (alowetz@gmu.edu)

Juliana Freire (jmontei3@gmu.edu)

Riho Ikeda (rikeda@gmu.edu)

Jamal Cottman (Jcottma@gmu.edu)

Nikeeya Marshall (nmarsha4@gmu.edu)

Teresa Bui (tbui32@gmu.edu)

Priya Sorot (psorot@gmu.edu)

Sofie Alexandrides (Salexa@gmu.edu)

Angela Charles (acharle4@gmu.edu)

Lin Lu (llu24@gmu.edu)

Ashley Taylor (Ataylo55@gmu.edu)

Emily Flynt (eflynt@gmu.edu)

Georgia Bizzell (gbizzell@gmu.edu)

Elizabeth Chimento (echiment@gmu.edu)